Tampa Wage & Hour Lawyer
Workers in the state of Florida and the city of Tampa are protected by myriad state and federal laws that explain how many hours an employee can work, the minimum wage that they must be paid, and how overtime hours are to be compensated. Unfortunately, these laws are often misunderstood by both employees and employers, and sometimes they are blatantly breached.
If you are an employee in Florida whose wage and hour rights have been breached, call our Tampa wage & hour lawyers at the law office of de Beaubien, Simmons, Knight, Mantzaris & Neal, LLP.
Protected Employee Rights Pertaining to Wages and Hours
There are three major components of wage and hour laws that you should know. These are:
- Minimum wage. While the federal government has set the minimum wage at $7.25 per hour, the minimum wage in Florida is $8.25 per hour. Employers are required to adhere to the state There are exceptions to this rule for certain employees, such as tipped employees (however, tipped employees must still make at least the minimum wage, with tips).
- Hours worked and breaks. The federal government has decided that an employee cannot work more than 40 hours a week without overtime pay. In regards to work breaks, the law in Florida requires that a meal period is granted to those employees who are under age 18 and work for more than four hours continuously, although this same right is notgranted to those who are 18 or over. Instead, federal laws apply. Federal law also does not require that a meal period be given, but does state that short breaks must be paid, but meal periods, assuming the employee is free to do what they want during the period, do not need to be paid.
- Overtime pay. As stated above, federal law requires that employees who work more than 40 hours in a week-long period be compensated with overtime pay (there are some exceptions to this rule). The rate at which employees must be compensated is 1.5 times the regular rate of pay for all hours worked over 40.
What Happens if My Rights as an Employee Are Breached?
If you believe that your rights as an employee have been breached as they pertain to wage and hour laws, you maintain the right to file a wage and hour complaint with the ESA Wage and Hour Division located in Tampa. You can also contact the federal Department of Labor, which will provide guidance in directing you to your local office.
If you decide to file a complaint, you must do so within two years from the date of violation. You deserve the right to collection compensation for wages that wrongfully went unpaid. You may also be entitled to liquidated damages depending upon the circumstances of your case.
Our Tampa Wage & Hour Lawyers Can Help
It can be intimidating and confusing to file a wage and hour claim on your own – our Tampa wage and hour lawyers can help. For guidance and legal counsel and support, please call our law office today or send us a confidential message telling us about your case.